Candidates announced for 2024 IBU Athletes' Committee elections

Ahead of the elections for the IBU Athletes’ Committee beginning on 27 February 2024, five candidates have been announced for the two open positions.

All athletes, who have competed in the IBU World Cup in at least one of the first two trimesters, or at the BMW IBU World Championships Biathlon 2024 in Nové Město na Moravě during the 2023-2024 season will have the right to vote.

The election will be held online during the BMW IBU World Cup event at Holmenkollen in Oslo, Norway, from 27 February until 3 March 2024.

The five candidates for the election are (in alphabetical order):

Download Athletes Committee Candidates Information

The IBU Athletes’ Committee was recently expanded to five members and with the current Chair Clare Egan standing down, there are two spots available for election.

Consequently, the position of the Athletes' Committee Chair will be vacant and will be voted on by the new membership of the Athletes’ Committee after their term begins on 1 April 2024.

Elected in 2022, the current members of the Athletes’ Committee who will remain in their positions until 2026 are:

  • Johannes Kühn (GER)

  • Ingrid Landmark Tandrevold (NOR)

  • Sebastian Samuelsson (SWE)

Of the two new members elected, one must be female to meet the gender equality requirements, and the other can be male or female.

The importance of athletes to decision-making within the IBU was recognised and solidly embedded into the governance structures with the approval of the IBU's new Constitution in October 2019.

The Athletes' Committee representative to the IBU Executive Board is a full voting member of the Board.

For more information on the election process, click here.

Teile die News!

Header iconAbonniere unseren Newsletter