Stats of the week - Annecy-Le Grand Bornand

Julia Simon and JT Boe will arrive in Annecy Le Grand Bornand as the red-hot favourites. The statistics we have analysed, point to JT's unmatched overall excellence and Julia's absolute accuracy in the prone.

Julia at 100% in the prone and in yellow

“It took me two years to finally understand and internalise the teachings of Jean-Paul Giachino,” explained her impeccable shooting in the first two weeks of the season Julia Simon. She shot 40 times in two Sprints, two Pursuits, and one Individual in Kontiolahti and Hochfilzen and cleared them all. Giachino replaced equally successful Franck Badiou before the 2020/2021 season. Simon shot with 72% accuracy in the prone in her first season under Giachino’s tutoring and 84% last season.

Elvira Oeberg and JT Boe have most wins in Annecy

Elvira Oeberg won twice, and JT Boe seven times in Annecy Le Grand Bornand. JT won each - of the four - times the BMW IBU World Cup visited French Alps. He has three wins in the Sprint, three in the Pursuit, and one in the Mass start, to his name. JT towered over the rest of the field in the Mass start in the 2019/2020 season, winning 42.1 seconds ahead of second Emilien Jacquelin. Oeberg was the fastest in the Pursuit and Mass start last winter for the first two wins in her career.

Annecy is increasingly generous to the home athletes

French athletes have scored 16 podiums - four of those were wins - in the BMW IBU World Cup in Annecy Le Grand Bornand. Justine Braisaz-Bouchet and Martin Fourcade won the Mass Start in the Olympic 2017/2018 season. Quentin Fillon Maillet won in the Pursuit, and Emilien Jacquelin in the Mass start last winter. Quentin in the Pursuit and Julia Simon in the Pursuit and Mass start added to the French December 2021 blockbuster weekend with the second place finishes..

Johannes’s consistency excellence is at its all-time best

JT Boe has won in four of the first five competitions this season, his most impressive-ever start. In his record-breaking 2018/2019 season, in which he won 16 times, JT won three of the first five competitions of the season.

Photo: IBU/C. Manzoni, J. Walter

Share this article

Header iconSign up for our newsletter