Olle Dahlin unanimously re-elected IBU President along with new IBU Executive Board

Olle Dahlin was today unanimously re-elected IBU President at the 15th Ordinary Congress, which also saw the election of Jiri Hamza as IBU Vice President and the election of a new IBU Executive Board and Technical Committee.

The elected members of the Executive Board for the 2022-2026 cycle can be found below:

  • IBU President: Olle Dahlin (SWE)

  • IBU Vice President: Jiri Hamza (CZE)

  • IBU Treasurer: Christian Scherer (AUT)

  • Members

    • Franz Steinle (GER)

    • Tim Farcnik (SLO)

    • Tore Boygard (NOR)

    • Fabien Saguez (FRA)

    • Nathalie Santer (ITA)

    • Ekaterina Dafovska (BUL)

The Executive Board is completed by the Chair of the IBU Athletes’ Committee, Clare Egan (USA), and the designated IBU Secretary General Max Cobb, who will come into office in October 2022. IBU President Olle Dahlin said: “I am honoured to have been re-elected to serve the biathlon family. I am committed to building on the excellent work we have achieved together over the last four years and ensuring that all stakeholders contribute to our exciting future. With Target 26 we have a clear framework for the years ahead and clear objectives to accomplish together. Everyone has a role to play as we press ahead with our development and work to achieve our huge potential.”

The Congress also elected 10 members of the new IBU Technical Committee, which will be completed by Kaisa Mäkäräinen (FIN) as the athletes’ representative. The elected members are:

  • Felix Bitterling (GER)

  • Ulrika Öberg (SWE)

  • Michal Zichacek (CZE)

  • Sara Studebaker-Hall (USA)

  • Christophe Vassallo (FRA)

  • Hillar Zahkna (EST)

  • Fabrizio Curtaz (ITA)

  • Per Arne Botnan (NOR)

  • Tomi-Pekka Riihivuori (FIN)

  • Dejan Brajdic (CRO)

The Congress approved for the elections of President and Vice President to take place by a showing of voting cards given there was only one candidate standing for each position. The election of the Treasurer, Executive Board and Technical Committee was conducted by secret ballot. The Congress approved a number of motions, most notably the enhancement of the powers of the Executive Board to impose exceptional protective measures aimed at preserving the safe, peaceful and regular conduct of the IBU’s activities in the case of events or circumstances of an exceptional nature which are outside of the IBU’s control.

Gender representation on the Executive Board and Technical Committee will also be increased at the IBU Voting Congress 2026, meaning there must be at least three members of the male and three members of the female gender on the Executive Board as well as the Technical Committee. The membership of the Athletes’ Committee was increased to five, and the Technical Committee membership was increased to 12 to allow for the appointment of a coach representative. Belgrade, Serbia was selected as the host of the next Ordinary Congress in fall 2024.

Share this article

Header iconSign up for our newsletter